Just In: FG releases list of states that may go on fresh lockdown

It’s well known that some months ago the Federal government had declared lockdown and interstate ban on citizens in order to ease the spread of Covid-19.

Honesty, all citizens have waited patiently on the government to rule out total lockdown. However, it is good to hear that the ban has been finally ruled out.

President Muhammadu Buhari who is the commander in chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces, made a broadcast on the democracy day approving the ease of lock down. Before then, president Muhammadu Buhari in conjunction with the federal government has vested powers on the state governments to decide when to lift lockdown in their various states.

For instance, restrictions on churches and mosques have been lifted by the federal government yet some states like Lagos didn’t agree to the decision of federal government due to the persistence increase in the number of affected persons in their state.

Looking at this, some state governors have decided to impose another lockdown in their states, irrespective of the fact that the federal government had officially relaxed lockdown in the recent democracy day.

The governor of Rivers State by name Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, has imposed a total lockdown of Bonny Local Government Area and Onne Community in Eleme Local Government Areas with effect from Sunday, June 21, 2020 to check the spread of coronavirus in the State.

Residents of the State to prepare for statewide lockdown if infections continue to increase unabated.

Consequently, all residents of Bonny Local Government and Onne community, except those on essential services and duly exempted must stay at home.

“Pursuant to the fundamental objective of stopping the spread of coronavirus, we have reviewed the situation in Bonny Island and Onne Communities and come to the conclusion that a total lockdown is necessary at this time to shut down the continuing spread of the virus in these communities.

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) have announced 661 new cases of Coronavirus in the country on Saturday,20th of June.

The total confirmed cases of coronavirus in Nigeria has now increased to 19,808 as at Saturday, 20th of June after the new cases has been announced.

The new cases which is announced by the NCDC was recorded in 13 and FCT (Abuja) and it was reported as follows;

230 in Lagos, 127 in Rivers, 83 in Delta, 60 in FCT, 51 in Oyo, 31 in Edo, 27 in Bayelsa, 25 in Kaduna, 13 in Plateau, 6 in Ondo, 3 in Nasarawa, 2 in Ekiti, 2 in Kano and 1 in Borno state.

In sync with this, here are list of states that may go for second total lockdown due to persistent increase in the number of affected persons in the respective states:

Lagos – 8,407

FCT – 1,549

Kano – 1,184

Rivers – 866

Oyo – 860

Edo – 779

Ogun – 623

Kaduna – 552

Delta – 501

Borno – 466

Gombe – 451

Bauchi – 447

Katsina – 426

Jigawa – 317

Ebonyi – 234

Abia – 221

Plateau – 220

Imo – 205

Nasarawa – 184

Kwara – 180

Bayelsa – 155

Sokoto – 135

Ondo – 134

Enugu – 126

Zamfara – 76

Kebbi – 67

Anambra – 66

Niger – 66

Akwa Ibom – 65

Yobe – 56

Osun – 54

Adamawa -42

Benue – 39

Ekiti – 34

Taraba – 18

Looking at the above stated covid-19 cases, what do you know about the virus in your state or residence?


Welcome to the Global News Nigeria, I am a blogger and a video editor in Nigeria, My aims and objectives are to share knowledge and varieties of news, sports and information across the globe.

%d bloggers like this: